Another Quick Beach Day

How could I not take a Sunrise picture and the Pelicans were a bonus!

I hadn’t added a new bird for a number of days and thought that my best chance would be to check out the Inlet and Snook Island.   American Oystercatcher and Willet are both “normal” species that with a little effort I should see this year … just not today!

Least Tern ... did I mention they are fast!!

I did however find a couple of returning Least Terns.  This small Tern is lighting quick and dives into the water with so much force you would think they’d hurt themselves.  The Least Tern is the 166th bird species I’ve photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year.

Spotted Sandpiper

After leaving the Beach I headed up to the new Snook Island Park.  This park borders the Lake Worth Public Golf Course and fortunately there is easy access to a fairly long stretch of the Intercoastal Waterway.  There are a dozen or so Oyster beds and the habitat is perfect for a good number of species. Today all I came up with was this Spotted Sandpiper sans his spots!

The last couple of times I’ve hit this spot the tide has been really low so next time I’ll check the tide tables and see if I have more luck on a high tide.  Thank you all for the visit and all the kind comments!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another Quick Beach Day

  1. These images are wonderful… I love the little tern, so cute. I’m off the beach tomorrow myself, and can’t wait. Don’t think I will see a tern on the Sunshine Coast though…. but if I am lucky, maybe a cormorant 🙂

  2. kasmango says:

    Love the pelicans with the sunrise! Seeing them diving for fish is always so much fun when I’m down there. You have inspired me to find some of my pelicans at sunset photos and post them 🙂

  3. jmgoyder says:

    Beautiful photos – very heart-soothing!

  4. newbiebird says:

    Beautiful sunrise… I’m heading tomorrow to Siesta Beach. Hopefully I’ll get some birds during sunrise.

Leave a Reply

