Sandhill Crane Family

Today I ventured up to Riverbend Park in Jupiter.  Yesterday a friend had a beautiful Barred Owl (a new bird for my year) and I had hopes that it would roost a couple of days in the same area.  I searched for an hour or so and saw all the expected Woodpeckers and many, many Cedar Waxwings but alas no Owl.

Riverbend is a huge park with many miles of bike paths.  I know I’ve said this before but this place is probably one of the most under birded spots in the county.  It is at the far Northern reaches of the county but is very accessible from both the Turnpike and I-95.

Sandhill Cranes ... proud parents of this young Colt!

I spent most of the remainder of my time this morning observing this Sandhill Crane family.  They were in the middle of a field busily feeding their young one so I sat down where I thought they might eventually pass.

Hurry up with the Grub!!! (Pun Intended)

I really love watching Sandhill Cranes.  The first Golf Course I worked at in Florida had at least half a dozen different pairs that would breed there each year.  The one thing that seemed consistent with all the Cranes that I observed was that they are excellent parents and have a high success rate with their offspring.

How can you not say Awwwwwww!

I saved the cute factor for the last picture.  I watched this guy eat a dozen grubs or so and his parents have taught him well.  Every time someone would run by he would duck down into the long grass. 

I love mornings like this where I can just stay in one place and observe nature.  I’ll try to find these guys every time I go up to Riverbend and will keep updating as this little one grows.  Thanks for visiting and have a blessed day!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sandhill Crane Family

  1. We got some good shots of sandhill cranes in Alaska a couple of summers ago. They are amazing birds. I love the baby in your shots. Nice job.
    Here’s what we got http://wp.me/p1305P-3a
    Greetings from north of the Arctic Circle.

  2. Cute baby! Thanks for sharing … Dorothy 🙂

  3. zannyro says:

    Ohhhhhh, I love watching them in Sarasota! They’re amazing!!

  4. mike585 says:

    Excellent images. Tom. 🙂

  5. newbiebird says:

    Great pictures. I’ve just started birdwatching and I’m looking forward to visiting all the different areas here in Florida. I will come back to your site. Thank you for sharing.

  6. Great baby photos Tom. I hope to do so well later next month with the same type of thing.
    Gerry

  7. marcellogomes41@gmail.com says:

    Hi Tom,
    I love the lighting hitting the sandhill cranes. I’ve only noticed them with gray colors and not that gorgeous golden color you’ve photographed. The chick is mighty cute too!

    Fyi: i went to Green Cay today, around 3:45 and there was a Swallow-tailed Kite gracefully flying and doing their acrobatics right over the parking lot… i thought of you (also know that you got their pics at Riverbend Park recently). Thanks for sharing your bountiful knowledge on such beautiful creatures.

  8. Ok….I did saw awwwwwwwww! Great captures, and that little guy is absolutely, positively adorable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

