Another Picture Taking Day

I just did a little birding with some friends this morning and wasn’t really looking for anything in particular.  Green Cay Wetlands is a place, where even on its worst day of the year, you can find things to watch and photograph.  All my pictures today are of very common species that I think came out pretty good.  Nothing spectacular, just nice.

White Ibis ... keeping with yesterdays theme of reflections!

It was actually a fairly birdie day today.  No real migrants except for one Praire Warbler but we did manage to scratch up 6 Warbler species all the common Herons and Egrets and both Bitterns.

Red-bellied Woodpecker

There are lots of Red-bellied Woodpeckers at GC and they are drilling out nesting holes and there is lots of yacking going on between the pairs.

Fulvous Whistling Duck ... rare visitor to Green Cay

We did have one surprise visitor to the Wetlands this morning.  A Fulvous Whistling Duck was hanging out.  We generally never see this species but do have large groups of Black-bellied Whistlers.  My theory is that they roost together or at least close by and once in a while someone will fly out in the morning with the wrong group.  We had a single Fulvous last year that stayed with his adoptive family for a week or so!

Red-winged Blackbird

I probably have 1,000 pictures of Red-winged Blackbirds but just don’t seem to be able to stop taking their picture when I see one singing like this!

Black and White Warbler

Like I said we had 6 Warbler Species today … Palm, Yellow-rump, Praire, Common Yellowthroat, Oven Bird and this nice male Black and White Warbler.  Hopefully in the next week we’ll start seeing some of their cousins coming from South/Central America.

Tomorrow I’ll be heading up to Riverbend Park in Jupiter.  My good friend Cheryl called this morning telling me she was staring at a Barred Owl.  It was a little to late to drive up today being a work day so hopefully it will stick around the same area till tomorrow!

Thank you for your time to read my blog! I do appreciate it!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Picture Taking Day

  1. Great shot of the Red Winged Blackbird. We have many around our home here because we have a lot of open space and water. They are certainly one of the more animated birds when they sing and make their calls. Well done!

  2. Dohn says:

    The red wing black bird is one of the species that thrilled me as a youngster growing up on the east coast. It was easy to identify and just seemed so exotic to young eyes. Nice to see it again and brought a smile. Thank you.

  3. Again, just awesome Tom everyone one of them. I really enjoy your wonderful photography!

Leave a Reply

