Reflecting on Reflections

Today was some serious Chamber of Commerce weather.  It was perfectly clear and 65 degrees when I got to Green Cay Wetlands this morning.  I had intended to go to the beach today but overnight the winds had shifted to the North and I was hopeful some migrants might have shown up today.

The parking lot was QUIET.  I only had a couple of Palm Warblers and a bunch of Common Grackles but who can worry when God has blessed us with a perfect day.

Solitary Sandpiper and Lesser Yellowlegs

I hadn’t made it 20 feet past the visitor center when I noticed that the water had dropped.  Right away I noticed some Shorebirds and they are always a treat to see being that we are 4-5 miles from the coast.  I really love it when two similar species pose close together.  You can see where a Yellowlegs gets his name from and the Solitary is smaller and while observing them I noticed that the Yellowlegs feeds much more aggressively and covers a large area in comparison.

Black-necked Stilts

Along with the other Shorebirds were some Black-necked Stilts.  They have just arrived in the last couple of weeks and are still in the courting stage with lots of fighting and chasing and generally carrying on.  This series shows a male chasing off another male and the final picture shows both the male and female.  She stood still and he ran around her a number of times flicking at the water in what I believe is a courtship thing … really cool to watch!

Blue-winged Teal ... one of the species that will soon be heading North!

Most of my 2 hours spent birding this morning was spent in one spot.  The light was perfect and with very little wind the reflections were fantastic.  I don’t often look at the birds from a photographers viewpoint but todays conditions were ideal for some “photography!”

Solitary Sandpiper

Lesser Yellowlegs

I also took individual shot of the two larger shorebirds.  There were also 4 Least Sandpipers to round out the group but they were pretty far away and I know in the Fall I can get super closeups of them.

Thank you for you time in visiting my blog … I really appreciate it!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Insects and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reflecting on Reflections

  1. oops! Sorry, I meant that they were great photos!

  2. ncprism says:

    That stilt looks like a ballet dancer for the audience fellow in the back!

  3. Another great post. Have a great day

  4. The legs have it! LOL I love the second black stilt photo action shot, excellent clarity! And the their third shot, they look so sweet together, nice bonding capture. 🙂

Leave a Reply

