Wakodahatchee Comes Through

I was feeling a little lazy today so I decided to stay close to home and bird Green Cay Wetlands this morning just to see if any migrants had shown up. Linda and I did a very thorough search of the parking lot and only had the regulars, Palm and Pine Warblers and a very boisterous Blue-headed Vireo.  We started the loop around when Linda received a phone call from Richard who was at Wakodahatchee Wetlands.  He had spotted a Sandpiper that he couldn’t ID so we packed it up and headed over to see what he had.

Solitary Sandpiper ... is the 162nd different species that I've photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year!

I was quickly feeling less lazy.  Richard knows his birds fairly well so I was hoping it might be something unusual or at least different from what I’ve seen this year.  As you can see from the above picture the mystery bird was a Solitary Sandpiper.  I was elated as I’ve made at least half a dozen different attempts to find one this year.

We also found this very cooperative Black-crowned Night-Heron feeding.  This can be a difficult bird to photograph as they generally feed at night.

Wakodahatchee Wetlands has become the spot to go to if you want to observe breeding birds.  Right now for the first time ever there are Wood Storks building nests … many Wood Storks, like 30-40 or so.  There are Anhingas and Cormorants, Green Herons and Tri-colors, Great Egrets and Cattle Egrets and while I didn’t see any we have had Glossy Ibis nesting in previous years.  That’s a lot of breeding birds and they are SOOOOO close!

Bringing his lady some new decorating material!

All those other species are wonderful but the stars of the show are probably the Great Blue Herons.  There are nest on almost every island with multiple nests on some.  The display these large Herons put on when building their nest is amazing.  We are so blessed to be able to witness this fabulous display.  I don’t spend that much time at Wakodahatchee but every time I do I’m amazed at all God’s wonders!

My yearly total of birds I’ve photographed is slowly but steadily increasing.  I still have a few more “easy” birds to get and migration should be getting going any day now so I should easily add another 5-10 new species then.  For anyone interested you can view all 162 pictures here on  Flickr.  Thanks for the visit!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wakodahatchee Comes Through

  1. Lady Deidre says:

    I love the picture of the birds building the nest — priceless. Great photos!
    God Bless You!

  2. mike585 says:

    These are all nice images, Tom, but I like the heron images in particular.

  3. Boy you have a good eye. Great Heron shots. We’re still waiting for winter to pass. Couple more weeks and the local wildlife sancuary will be humming. This moring we woke up to another 6 inches of fresh snow.
    Gerry

  4. AWESOME captures, every one of them, and congrats on #162!

Leave a Reply

