I Like Daylight Savings Time

One of the benefits of DST is I get to see a few more of these!!!

When you work the 3-11pm shift and are a birder the extra hour of dark in the morning is a good thing.  I’m use to sleeping 6 hours and rushing out of the house in the morning.  As all good birders know the best birding often occurs from sunrise till 10-11 am when the birds are first up and feeding and before they take their afternoon nap!

Sanderling ... This guy was enjoying the early morning sunrays, just like me!!!

Today I started at the Boynton Beach Inlet.  I managed an extra 1/2 hour of sleep and still managed to beat the sun-up.  There was lots of activity at the beach but nothing really unusual.  The best bird being a Sandwich Tern.  I don’t see these that often so it’s always a nice treat.

Osprey

I then went to a new park that opened up in the Lake Worth Lagoon.  The Snook Island park has a long fishing pier as well as a separate pier just for nature watching.  There are a dozen or so Oyster beds and a Mangrove area that should be good for American Oystercatcher and possibly even Redish Egret.  This morning the tide was really low and the only “good” birds that I saw were a pair of Red-breasted Mergansers. There was pair of Osprey calling back and forth and this one allowed a fairly close approach.  I definitely will be returning as this place has a good deal of potential.

As always thank you so much for the visit!

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Like Daylight Savings Time

  1. Great shot of the Osprey. There were lots of those on Captiva last week. They have done a nice job of creating nesting areas for them on the island including using old telephone/power poles with nest caps on them. They are certainly very vocal in the morning. The Osprey gets the nod for the banner on the front page of my blog. It’s spring after all and the winter shot of the fox was ready to be replaced with a more spring like shot.

  2. Titi says:

    Looks so natural

  3. An osprey! Great shot, haven’t gotten any great ones yet here, hopefully soon. Beautiful sunrise too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

