Cruise Pics 2

I did do a little birding today at Green Cay Wetlands and was blessed with seeing 51 species of birds.  The weather was not very conducive for taking pictures and migration hasn’t quite begun so there was nothing new to add to the list so I thought I’d share just a few more pictures from the cruise.

The water-color was just phenomenal at every one of our port of calls!

There were so many outstanding views during the cruise and it’s nearly impossible to explain just how wonderful they are … God has given us so many remarkable places to see and I intend on visiting and sharing as many as possible!

What a cutie ... he just sat there playing hide and seek!

Yesterday I mentioned visiting a nature reserve in Honduras which had both Monkeys and Parrots.  The question for me comes up … are these wild animals or not?  They are not in cages and there is nothing preventing them from flying or climbing off but they don’t because they know where the food is.  The Parrots do fly away but always come back and I ask myself is this any different from Pigeons in Central Park who spend their entire existence eating breadcrumbs.

It was incredible to see these guys flying around in the tree canopy!

I guess it really doesn’t matter and I hope to one day see them both in the “wild” of Costa Rica.

Canivet's Emerald ... There are many different types of Emerald Hummingbirds to pick through and I've no experience so this is my best guess for his ID.

The preserve also had Hummingbird feeders set up.  The number of Hummers was incredible with 4-5 visiting each feeder at one time.  It was actually pretty difficult getting images with just one in the frame at a time.

It’s nice to be home but I’m already dreaming about my next cruise with Terri!  Maybe Alaska next time … Bears and Eagles and Glaciers and all those cool pelagics!  Thanks for the visit!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, General, Places and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cruise Pics 2

  1. Julie Gomez says:

    Good information, and beautiful pictures. The monkey is definitely a favorite. Happy birding!

  2. Eric Malbone says:

    Fantastic as always! We’ll get down there eventually. Clare and I will be in your neck of the woods later this week! We’re starting 3 days in the Everglades tomorrow (Tuesday). Let us know if you’ll have the chance to get out some.

  3. kasmango says:

    Love the photo of the monkey face! Must have been nice to get up close with these animals!

  4. Maggie L R says:

    Love the parrot and the bird, the monkey is cute too…

  5. kt11 says:

    Wow, that is spectacular. Beautiful shots, well done.

  6. Incredibly awesome shots! I have a thing for parrots (Jimmy Buffet parrothead!) and that capture is stunning. It had to be cool to see them flying… 🙂 Wonderful hummingbird capture and the monkey is adorable.

Leave a Reply

