TGIF

Well, honestly it’s my Saturday which is what you get working for a Sheriff’s Office that is open 24/7/365.  Someone has to work weekends and fortunately I now have enough seniority where I only have to work one of those days!

Gray Catbird ... not one you see in the open much.

Today was another casual day of birding.  I wasn’t looking for anything in particular and just enjoyed the company of my good friends Linda and Bill as we made our way around Green Cay Wetlands.

Gray Catbird ... feather detail!

We found a number of good subjects today including the above Catbird.  The second shot is just to show the beautiful detail in his feathering.

Green Heron

Mating season is definitely upon us.  This Green Heron would usually have Yellow legs and eyes but they turn Orange when he’s looking for a mate.

Tri-color Heron ... just saying hello!

The Tri-color Heron really changes when Spring rolls along.  His bill will turn this lovely Blue and he develops wispy feathers on his back. His eye color changes from Yellow to Red and his top-knot feathers also increase and he displays them more often.

Palm Warbler ... Eastern sub-species

We only saw just a few Warblers today (I hope migration holds off another week or two).  There were quite a few Pines in the parking lot and many Palms in the Cypress woods.  Linda was able to relocate the Eastern Palm Warbler and I managed to get a shot of him out of the trees.

Tomorrow will be my last day birding for a week and a half.  I’m going cruising with Terri and while I’ll hopefully see some marvelous birds I’ll be doing lots of other fun things like snorkeling, para-sailing and lots and lots of eating!  Tomorrow I get to go back out to Station 1 East and hopefully we’ll see some of the Ducks that were absent last time.

Thank you so much for the visit and God Bless!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TGIF

  1. Hi Sheriff Smith,
    I really enjoy your bird photography, especially the songbirds, which are so flighty and difficult to capture with a camera–nicely done!
    Thanks for sharing, and happy birding!

  2. Once again great photos, I look forward to your pics whenever you post them. Great job your doing down there in all that sun and warmth.
    Gerry

Leave a Reply

