Red-breasted Merganser

Once again a friend came through for me with a new bird for the year.  Yesterday while walking around with the Loxahatchee Wednesday morning bird group, Beth mentioned to me that she had seen 3 Red-breasted Mergansers at the Inlet yesterday.

Red-breasted Merganser ... # 158 for the year

I arrived at the Boynton Beach Inlet just before sunrise hoping to get some early morning shots.  The cloud layer didn’t cooperate so I came away with nothing but the wonderful memories of todays sunrise.  This very cooperative Merganser was right in front of where I was shooting and allowed me to watch him for a half an hour before finally flying South.

Red-breasted Merganser

Neither of these pictures were great but suitable for ID purposes.

Red-breasted Merganser ... 3-22-11 picture taken at Ding Darling NWRRed-breasted Merganser ... 3-22-11 picture taken at Ding Darling NWR

This is such a cool looking bird I thought I add a few more that I took last year.

Black-bellied Plover ... kind of artistic for me!!

While observing the Merganser I noticed a small group of Black-bellied Plovers sitting on one of the breakwaters.

I wanted to say a word about being truly blessed and humbled yesterday.  The big bosses at WordPress thought my little blog was worthy of making the front page of the Freshly Pressed section.  Before yesterday my highest daily viewing had been 82 which I thought was amazing … better advertising equaled over 1,500 views yesterday and over 2,000 today and I truly want to thank EVERYONE who visited and for all the wonderful comments.  I really was blown away and again thank you all!

All 158 species of birds I’ve photographed in Palm Beach County this year can be seen here on my Flickr site!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Mammals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.