Great Horned Owl

Great Horned Owl ... still very dark out!

I only spent a couple of hours birding this morning.  I arrived at Loxahatchee NWR right as the sun was coming up and within 10 minutes had this beauty.  He was way back in the trees and thankfully facing the right direction.

Great Horned Owl ... whooooooo's looking at me!

I was shooting at 2000 ISO and still was having a hard time handholding due to the lack of light.  This picture was taken a little later when I was showing Linda F. the Owl.  The entire Wednesday morning bird walk group also was able to see him.

Morning Doves ... very young siblings.

Linda and I split off from the group and walked the Cypress Hammock trail.  There wasn’t much cooking in the woods but we did run into this pair of very young Morning Doves.  They were snuggling very close to each other and were very reluctant to move.  We made our way around them and they were still close to each other as we left.

Even though it was a brief effort today I did add a new bird for the year and I feel so totally blessed each and every time I get to go out and enjoy all of God’s wonderful creations!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Great Horned Owl

  1. Nice owl photos. Not so easy to get I know. check out my buddies blog that I look after. He has some good owl shots too. http://www.kurtswansonphotography.wordpress.com I sure do look forward to your posts.
    Gerry

  2. mike585 says:

    Nice owls! There are plenty of owls on the marsh, but I am rarely able to get a decent photograph of one.

  3. melankooli says:

    Awesome! I have just finished a painting about one of these Great horned Owls for a friend, I’ve loved researching them, such amazing creatures. Great photos,

  4. Lady Deidre says:

    I loved the owl pic! Great shots!
    God Bless You!

  5. Beautiful Photos of the Owl…loved them! The doves are nice too.

Leave a Reply

