Finally a Hummingbird!

Spent a very lovely 3 hours walking around the Green Cay Wetlands this morning.  The weather finally cooperated with sunny conditions and it seemed like the birds were happy about it too!

Green Cay has quite a few Firebush that are wonderful Hummingbird attractants.  Over the Winter the blooms of the Firebush die off and it becomes a little more difficult to find our over-wintering Hummers.  Today when I first walked in I told Dr. Alan to look at the Firebush as it finally had a blossom and I thought my chances would now be better to find one.

Ruby-throated Hummingbird ... This is the 156th species of bird I have photographed in Palm Beach County this year!

I actually ended up finding 2 of them.  Unfortunately both were very backlit and thus not as sharp as I would have liked.  We should have an influx of migrant Hummers coming through very soon and I will be able to improve their image.

Henz's Orbweaver

I had many nice finds this morning including this cool looking Spider. I’m not 100% positive on the name but that’s what I came up with using Google.

Least Bittern ... wondering where those sexy sounds came from!

In the birding world many of us Pssish, which is nothing more than making funny noises trying to get birds to respond.  I’ve become pretty good at warbling like a Screech Owl and my Warbler pishing works OK most of the time.  Today I was trying out a new thing to imitate a Least Bittern.  Linda was kind of laughing at me and wouldn’t you know it not 2 minutes later this beautiful female flew to us!

Roseate Spoonbills ... one of the Florida specialty birds!

We also had a very cooperative trio of Roseate Spoonbills.

Palm Warbler ... the Eastern Variety has the Yellow Eyebrow, Throat and Chest.

In the Cypress Woods there is usually a good number of Palm Warblers and Yellow-rumped Warblers.  I always try to make sure there isn’t a “better” Warbler hiding amongst his buddies and today I was fortunate to find a different Palm Warbler … the resident Palms are all Western varieties and this Eastern Palm caught my attention!

Cuban Anole ... showing off for the girls!

The last cool thing I saw this morning was this Cuban Anole.  He was really showing off and I thought his Dulap looked like a slice of Watermelon!

The Hummingbird was new for the year.  You can see pictures of all 156 birds species here on my Flickr website.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Insects, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Finally a Hummingbird!

  1. Whoa, beautiful photos! I am a WordPress photographer, so I really enjoy these posts. Great job.

  2. Beautiful photos! Thanks for sharing. It is fun to see Floridian nature which is quite different from California wine country!

  3. Really enjoyed these beauties! I just added you to my blogroll!

  4. beautiful birds…i’ll not wonder someday you’ll become an expert bird whisperer. 😀

  5. picturepedia says:

    Really wonderful photos… these pictures helped me a lot..
    Enjoyed!…

  6. kasmango says:

    All wonderful shots… but the last one of the anole is my favorite! Love how he blends into the tree, and his bright red neck pops against the background! Love it! 🙂

  7. Some lovely photo’s here, not going to lie , I jumped a mile out of my seat when I scrolled onto the spider image . . . ha

  8. Gillian says:

    Wow! Gorgeous shot of the Least Bittern. They’re definitely a tough bird to see, let alone photograph!

  9. You never fail to show such stunning photos of birds I’ve never seen, I’m always in awe at each of your posts, always love your narrative too. And CONGRATS on #156, that also simply amazes me, it’s only early March. Happy birding always Tom!

Leave a Reply

