Excercise Birding

Red-shouldered Hawk ... about as majestic looking as it gets!

Yesterday I spent 3 hours at Loxahatchee NWR with the bulk of the time looking for a Great Horned Owl nest.  I’ve been told the approximate location but failed in finding it yesterday even though I scanned every bunch of Spanish Moss in every crook of every tree!  Better luck next time.  I did find this (probably the same one) cooperative Red-shouldered Hawk.  He seems to like the Cypress Woods near the boat ramp and I think I may have posted his pic before.

Today I woke up and felt I needed a change of pace.  I packed up my bike and drove down to the beach near Spanish River Park.  I rode my bike in more of an excercise mode than in a birding mode.  I did stop and scan the Intercoastal Waterway in a couple of different spots looking for Red-breasted Mergansers.

Great Egret

I rode South on A1A to just past the Boca Resort.  There are a couple of nice breakwaters there that have had American Oystercatcher on them in the past.  Today I had this nice Great Egret who along with a Snowy Egret and a couple of Ruddy Turnstones were begging for pieces of cut up Shrimp.  There was a couple on the jetty and he was down near the waterline.  His wife (girlfriends probably wouldn’t do this) was patiently waiting until his hooks needed rebaiting and she would take pieces of shrimp and bait his hooks.  When he turned around to fish she would take little pieces and feed her new best friends!!

Morning Dove

As I was leaving the jetty a pair of Morning Doves flew in and landed.  Common species like this get little photographic exposure but I thought the color of the water matched his eyes nicely.

Northern Parula ... female because she doesn't have the dark chest band that the males have.

I stopped by the Spanish River Park on my way back just to see if anything unusual was around.  I sat in the bird observation area for an hour or so watching Painted Buntings, Catbirds and Cardinals.  I also had a Prairie Warbler and this Northern Parula feeding in one of the bushes near the feeders.

I had a great workout and saw some really nice birds and once again celebrated another day marveling at the gifts God has given us.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Excercise Birding

  1. Eric Malbone says:

    These are fantastic shots! I can’t wait to get down there… sooooooooon!

  2. Lady Deidre says:

    Pretty, pretty pictures! I love the hawk, but also the color in the last photo!
    God Bless You!

  3. I’m catching up and your last three posts are awesome. What fantastic captures every one of them!

Leave a Reply

