Monday … Peaceful, Easy Morning

I spent a very relaxing morning walking around Green Cay Wetlands.  A nice little cool front blew through yesterday and it was in the low 60’s this morning when I started.

Coopers Hawk # 1

For a couple of months now there has regularly been a Cooper’s Hawk patiently waiting near the entrance and the bird feeders.  This morning as I was scanning the parking lot for Warblers I noticed one fly in and so I went to see if it was on an open perch.  I quickly found this guy and took some shots.

Cooper's Hawk # 2

He sat there and I eventually left him intending to go work the parking lot some more.  I turned around and there was another Cooper’s sitting not 20 feet from the fist one!  This one was in much better light and appears to be a little younger than his buddy.  My guess at their ages is based on the amount of the Brown feathers on their respective chests.

Blue Jay ... in my opinion one of the handsomest birds!

Twenty feet past where these two were sitting I caught this Blue Jay as he was waiting his turn at the feeders.  I watched the feeders for 10-15 minutes and I find it fascinating watching the pecking order and who’s feeding where and how.

The Common Grackles are the Kings of the feeder and everyone else gives way. The Blue Jays seem to be next in line and the Doves, both White-winged and Morning, rarely bother to get feed out of the feeder.  They prefer to just pick up whatever the messy Grackles spill out.  The Northern Cardinals and Painted Buntings are the most shy and quickly flit in and out as they find an open spot.  If there are no other birds around the Buntings will sometimes have 6 or more all working the feeder.

Blue-winged Teal ... Mirror, mirror on the wall!

I usually don’t take many pictures of the Blue-winged Teals but this guy was all by himself (which is unusual) and he was posing so nicely … I took way to many shots of him and thought this one looked like he was staring at himself.

I had a wonderful day enjoying all of Gods wonders and got to spend some quality time with a good number of great friends.  Thanks for the visit!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday … Peaceful, Easy Morning

  1. the blue winged teal is super cute while staring at his own image in the water… He must be so much amazed with it that he forgot that he was alone. 🙂

  2. Lady Deidre says:

    Your blog never disappoints! I love the bird photos!
    God Bless You!

  3. mike585 says:

    Beautiful images, Sheriff. I particularly like the hawk images. 🙂

    • sheriffsmith says:

      Hi Mike, I’ve attempted to comment on your last two posts and for some reason it will not let me even type a letter. I’ve commented on other blogs and have had no problem … but I just wanted you to know I really enjoy your blog and the Heronry post really reminds me of home as there is a large heronry at Wakodahatchee Wetlands which is only 4 miles from my house. We have about a dozen of our Great Blue Herons nesting right now. Keep up the wonderful posts!!! Tom

      • mike585 says:

        Sorry to hear of your reply problems, Sheriff. It’s gratifying to know that you enjoy my blog, but it’s all good, because I really enjoy your blog too; your images are excellent.

Leave a comment