Plovers, Plovers, Plovers !!!

Three Species of Plover ... super trifecta !

I finally had success finding the Plover flock at the Lake Worth Beach.  There were a dozen Black-bellied along with 22 Semi-palmated, 7 Piping and 1 lone Wilson’s Plover.  They were a mile and a half down the beach above the tide line in a mound that the beach cleanup machine had created.

Wilson's Plover ... # 149 for the year and a nice addition to my county list!

The Wilson’s Plover with his large bill was the best of the group.  Not only was this a year bird but it was also a county bird as well.  I was very pleased that the whole group that Brian Hope had reported a week ago was still intact. 

Semi-palmated Plover ... The 150th species I have photographed in Palm Beach County this year!

The Semi-palmated Plovers were the most numerous as is usual in mixed Plover flocks.  They also seem to be the least jumpy and allow for fairly close photo ops.

Piping Plover ... # 151 for the year. He's also sporting an ankle monitor!!

This Piping Plover is wearing a tracking bracelet or as I like to call them ankle monitors (Okay!! I work in a Jail).  He probably has them on both legs but the sand obscured a better look at them.

I was lucky this morning that the Plover flock was high up on the beach allowing me to get a good sun angle on the birds.  I took all these shots before 8 am so the light was still very friendly.

Laughing Gull

The light and the birds were all cooperative this morning and I took quite a few “keeper” photo’s.  I don’t see very many Laughing Gulls in full breeding plumage so I was happy this guy separated himself from the flock for a minute.

Wow, what a blessed morning!  I was able to add three new birds to my year list, take some nice photo’s to be used later and still had time for grocery shopping and some computer work.  You can view all 151 species of birds I’ve photographed this year in Palm Beach County right … here!! (doesn’t seem to want to link today?)

Thanks for the visit and I really do appreciate all the kind comments!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Plovers, Plovers, Plovers !!!

  1. Beautiful captures! Like his little ankle monitor too, lol. Congrats on three adds in one day….awesome.

Leave a Reply

