Glorious Day

I spent a glorious 3 hours at Loxahatchee NWR. There was an area of the refuge that I had never explored so I rode my bike the two miles to a cross dike that goes in about 100 yards and then a smaller dike parallels the main dike road for many miles. 

This morning would rate very high up on my scale of nice days.  The weather was PERFECT, 56 degrees and mostly sunny with very low humidity which created a perfect Blue sky.  I know that God is always with me but on days like today there is no doubt or question of his presence and his wonder!

Cedar Waxwings ... resting and refueling!

I saw many good birds this morning including two of my favorite migrants, American Robins and Cedar Waxwings.  I love Robins because they remind me of growing up in Ohio.  One of the funniest things you’ll ever witness is a Robin playing tug of war with a Nightcrawler.  The best thing about the Robins this morning was that they were headed South, so maybe Spring is still a ways away!

Little Blue Heron ... just a youngin!

Little Blue Herons are cool birds.  They molt reverse of most of the other species.  They start out all White and then they get their Blue feathers.  The intermediate stage is really cool too and I’ll post a picture at a later date.  I caught this guy jumping from one branch of the tree to another.

White Ibis

White Ibis molt normally, from Browns to White. I guess I’ll have to do a post of all the Waders and their cool looking Juvenile molt stages.  This guy came in all by his self which is quite unusual.  Ibis are usually in flocks and I think he was calling looking for a few buddies!

Orange-barred Sulphur

Butterflies were also out in force today.  I want to get a Macro lens so I can get closer looks at some of these beauties.  I liked this one and don’t think I have posted a picture of him on Flickr before.

Osprey with nesting material!

On my way back down the dike towards my car I saw this Osprey flying in with nesting material.  I watched it fly 500 yards carrying this very big stick and was impressed how it managed to get it on the nest without dropping it.  I’ve watched this couple build their nest for the last couple of weeks and they have done an impressive job!

I didn’t see any new birds for my quest today and I could not have cared less!  I had an exhilarating day out and I thank God for every chance I get to see his mighty work!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Glorious Day

  1. Each capture is stunning! I cannot say which is my favorite because I love them all. What a glorious day indeed!

  2. mike585 says:

    Lovely images, Sheriff.

  3. dou dou says:

    What a beautiful flock in that first shot! Gorgeous photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

