Possibilities …

When you are attempting to find as many birds as possible in any given time period, in my case 1 year, you have to rely on as many resources as possible.  One that I check every day, sometimes more than once, is the Tropical Audubon’s Birdboard.  Much of what is posted relates to the Miami/Dade area but occasionally someone will post something about Palm Beach County. 

Over the weekend Brian Rapoza, author of Birding Florida, spent the day in PBC and his sightings got me to thinking about the birds I’ve seen and those I haven’t.  Brian saw a couple of Yellow-headed Blackbirds at the Sem Chi Rice factory on Ste Rd 880.  I remember that someone saw one there last year in the fall and also a Bronzed Cowbird. 

In January I just started birding and photographing as many different birds as I could find.  I had no set target number and didn’t even compile a list of potential species but now that I’m approaching 150 species his post got me dreaming.

Tonight I sat down and compiled a list of the birds that I’ve seen before in the county, birds that have been reported this year and a few others that I think I should be able to find.  The list numbers more than 75!!!  I don’t expect to see all of these but now have a goal of at least 200. 

If someone would have asked me at the beginning of the year what my goal was I would never have set a number that high, but with a little luck and some good birding I think I should get there. 

I did bird today … an hour or so at the beach.  I saw the regulars and enjoyed another cold (for Florida) morning in the sun with little wind.  Sorry no pics today but thanks for following and all the kind comments.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Possibilities …

  1. I think a fantastic goal to work towards! And I am sure you will succeed. 🙂 I’m amazed how many you’ve seen so far this year already. I’ve never tracked & counted the different species I’ve seen since I started photographing birds, and I’m only a bit knowledgeable & lean towards waterfowl birds since I’m on/around water most the time with my camera; but of the waterfowl, I find myself now ‘looking’ for that certain duck or heron or egret that I’ve never seen & can hopefully capture. Kind of a quest I guess for myself. There’s something so pleasing as to capture a new bird you’ve not photographed before.

  2. Rayya says:

    A goal of 200 is pretty amazing. Best of luck. Can’t wait to see future pictures. Happy birding 🙂

Leave a Reply

