American White Pelicans

It was still quite yucky out this morning.  It had rained really hard over night and riding my bike was a messy proposition this morning.  I visited STA 1 East this morning.  You can only bike a small portion of this watershed but I wanted to do something different this morning so a biking I went.

American White Pelicans ... # 147 for the year!

There were not many Ducks on the water but I did notice many large flocks flying.  They were generally heading West-Northwest so I hope they weren’t bailing out for the Winter and were just going somewhere else to feed.  I also had a flyover group of 12 American White Pelicans.  They were a ways off and against a gray sky but are still IDable.

There was a nice mud flat this morning and it had both Yellowlegs, Dowitchers, Least Sandpipers a Spotted Sandpiper and a couple of Wilson’s Snipes.  It was a very fussy group and as Ninja like as I tried to be they just kept spooking!

Blue-winged Teal ... A very happy couple!!

I left STA 1 and headed to Green Cay Wetlands.  The clouds were starting to break up a little and you never know what might pop up here.  I didn’t find anything new but I liked how this pair of Blue-winged Teal stayed right next to each other as they fed.  I guess he wants to be her Valentine!

Sora

Terri came out and we walked around the rest of the way.  She is a great spotter and pointed out one of my favorite birds.  We only have Sora about half the year here and they can at times be very tough to find.  They are a member of the Rail family, which are notorious skulkers and I was very happy to see this one out posing.

All and all a nice day off.  The Pelican brings me to 147 birds that I’ve photographed in Palm Beach County this year.  All 147 can be seen here.  Thank you all for visiting and I REALLY thank you for all the kind comments.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to American White Pelicans

  1. Humbled Pie says:

    Really great shots..especially the Teal! You weren’t shootin over baited waters were you? 😉

    • sheriffsmith says:

      Green Cay Wetlands is so popular with both Photographers/Nature lovers and many walkers that the birds are completely acclimated to people. I just lay down on the boardwalk to get a little lower perspective and hope no one stomps on me!!! Thank you for the kind words! Tom

  2. January 13th, Blackwater Refuge announced their small flock of white pelicans (7 this year) had showed up again, having returned winter after winter. Very rare sighting, they shouldn’t be in the Chesapeake Bay area! They were still there couple days ago but I’ve not had chance to get back down there (2 hrs one way for me) since New Year’s Day, so I’m pretty bummed at missing seeing them again this year. Glad you’ve seen yours and have #147! And it re-reminded me to get down to Blackwater real soon if I can before our rarities leave!

    Blue-winged teal – sweet!

    • sheriffsmith says:

      Sure hope you get to see them. We are spoiled in Florida. Around the Orlando area it’s not uncommon to have hundreds all on one lake. It really is a cool sight to see them group fishing and soaring in their “V” formations. Thank you so much for the kind comments and support! Tom

Leave a Reply

