Soggy Sandwhich … Tern That Is

There was a report yesterday on the Tropical Audubon Bird Board of 3 species of Plovers at the Lake Worth Beach area so that’s where I headed first thing this morning.  I walked about a mile down the beach and only had Sanderlings and Ruddy Turnstones.  There were Ring-billed and Laughing Gulls along with a few Royal Terns.  Just as I turned around the sky’s opened up and I got soaked, at least from the waist down.  I always carry a rain poncho from Wal-Mart.  They are 89 cents and are wonderful keeping the camera and the upper half of me dry.

Sandwich Tern ... # 146 photographed for the year!!

I ended up back on the pier, hiding out from the rain when I noticed a smaller Tern mixed in with the loitering Gulls.  It was a good distance away but I was pretty sure it did not have an Orange bill.  When the rain finally subsided I made my way down and found this lone Sandwich Tern.  The sun popped out, I took my shot and then the heavens opened up again.

I did stop at the Boynton Beach Inlet for 10 minutes with the best bird being a fly over Magnificent Frigatebird.

Sunset ... Loxahatchee NWR ... This image is straight out of the camera, zero manipulation!!!

I went shopping with Terri and then to dinner.  We had a little time before sunset so we stopped at Loxahatchee NWR and walked a little.  We heard at least two Great Horned Owls and saw 200-300 Glossy Ibis, 11 Spoonbills and many other Waders just prior to this phenomenal sunset.

Thanks for following along!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soggy Sandwhich … Tern That Is

  1. I’m with ya on this one, don’t change a thing. Well done
    Gerry

  2. I just love you blog, and am so impressed with your finds and bird knowledge. Congrats on #146! The sunset…WOW….simply gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

