One New Addition

Today I spent a couple of hours at the Boynton Beach Inlet.  I saw all the expected Gulls and Terns and had two groups of Northern Gannet.  I also had two very quick-moving groups of Ducks heading at water level due North.  I was hoping for one of the Sea Ducks but both groups ended up being Scaup.

Great Black-backed Gull

It was very overcast again today which makes for great Sea watching.  While the winds were out of the Northeast I don’t think they were strong enough to bring any of the real goodies.  I did manage an inflight shot of a Great Black-backed Gull.  I have lots of shots of them on the beach but few flight shots so I was happy to get this one.

Mallard ... this is the 145th species I've photographed in Palm Beach County this year!

When I was invited to go on the STA 1 East trip on the 19th I began to think about the Ducks I might add to my list.  I noticed that I hadn’t seen a Mallard yet this year and I wanted to remedy that today.  Mallards are one of those species I don’t see in the wetlands often but are usually present on ponds in housing developments. I found 3 nice males in just such a pond hanging out with some Mottled Ducks.

You can view all 145 species on my Flickr site here.  Thank you for visiting and have a great day.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

