Rain, Rain Go Away or Neither Rain Nor ….

Two days of rain here in South Florida broke my streak of consecutive days birding.  Yesterday we had a pretty much all day rain that kept me away from birding.  I did accomplish a couple of important things like get a new drivers license and tags and grocery shopping so today I had no excuse to stay home.

I spent 3 hours at Green Cay Wetlands this morning.  I got rained on but it was well worth the damp clothes.  Having birded in South Florida for the last six years I’ve come up with a pretty good system of keeping my equipment dry.  Bread bags are great for a long lens and plastic shopping bags go on and come off the camera quickly and easily if you need to take a shot.

Gadwall

Green Cay was very birdie today and I was lucky to get a couple of keepers.  I loved this picture of the female Gadwall.  I was surprised that there was a nice reflection considering the cloud cover.

Baltimore Oriole ... this is the 144th species I've photographed this year in Palm Beach County!

The rain chased me into the woods by the Chickee Hut.  There was very little stirring but as the rain let up the Warblers started actively feeding.  There is a Ficus that is fruiting right now so I decided to hang out there and sure enough a wonderful pair of Baltimore Orioles showed up to feed!  Year Bird!!!

Black and White Warbler

I also was able to catch this Black and White Warbler …

Yellow-rumped Warbler

… and this Yellow-rumped Warbler! 

When I first started photographing birds six years ago I spent most of my time chasing Warblers.  I had a 70 – 300mm non-stabilized lens that forced me to use very good birding skills to get any presentable images.  I now REALLY appreciate my image stabilized 100 – 400mm!!

We are blessed in Florida with more than our share of fair weather so a couple of days of showers is nothing to complain about.  I managed to get a new bird for the year list and enjoyed every drop of the rain!!!

You can see all 144 species I’ve photographed this year here … Thank you for visiting and all the kind comments!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rain, Rain Go Away or Neither Rain Nor ….

  1. Terri says:

    Neither rain or snow will ever really affect your birding skills honey!!!! You are the best! I love the Gadwall photo. Very nice reflection. I have never seen Baltimore Orieles – that would be a real treat. Great birding and great photography!

  2. Beautiful shots! I love the Gadwell photo too, the reflection is wonderful.

  3. Great shots!! The first and last pics show intense emotions in their faces.

Leave a Reply

