Rarity in the Back Yard !

Neotropic Cormorant ... # 143 for Palm Beach County

Well, not really my back yard but only a couple of miles away.  It seems that Wakodahatchee Wetlands has been hosting a pair of Neotropic Cormorants for some time and none of the locals noticed.  On January 23rd a gentleman from New York took some pictures and when he got home and reviewed them he noticed that one of the Cormorants looked different.  He subsequently sent the photo’s to a local and the word got out that we had a Neotropic Cormorant at Wakodahatchee.  What a year bird for my quest!!!

Neotropic Cormorant ... different bird than the one above!

The question has been raised how could both of these birds not be discovered by a local.  They have obviously been around awhile as they are interacting with the Double-crested Cormorants who are nesting.  Today I saw one of them mating with a DCC and the other one feeding another Cormorant (species to be determined).  I also got pictures of one gathering nesting material!!!

I’ve been to Wakodahatchee 4-5 times this year and not once did I scan the DCC’s for someone different.  The island that they nest on has been denuded of foliage and generally is pretty smelly, ugly mess.  Most people I’ve talked to have said the same thing … they just don’t stop and look.

Neotropic Cormorant ... With nesting material!

I guess this rarity, only the 7th record in Florida, will teach us all a lesson about not taking the obvious and common place for granted as there might be a diamond in the rough!

You can see all 143 birds I’ve photographed this year in Palm Beach County on my Flickr page right here

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rarity in the Back Yard !

  1. mike585 says:

    Wonderful image, Sheriff.

  2. Great captures! We have lots of DCCs over the summer, but I’ve not seen this NC type, or maybe I need to now review my photos from the past. Congrats on the great find to add to your count.

Leave a Reply

