Good Photo Day

This morning I spent about 3 hours working my way around Green Cay Wetlands.  I spent a good amount of the time in the hammock areas hoping for a Hummingbird, Oriole or good Warbler.  While I didn’t find any new species today I did have some photographic opportunities.

Northern Harrier

There has been a Northern Harrier every Winter at Green Cay and this year is no exception.  The big difference is this lady likes to perch.  She’s not preferential and I’ve seen on just about every snag in the wetlands.  In prior years I rarely if ever saw one perched so this has been a treat for photographers.

Common Yellowthroat

I was looking at a Least Bittern when a female Common Yellowthroat began feeding directly in front of me.  This little Warbler does not sit still very long and its prefered habitat is not photographer friendly.  Digital photography allows us to use the shotgun method of picture taking … find your subject, takes lots of pics and hope something comes out.  Today I got “lucky” and caught her in a most unusual pose.

Green Heron

This Green Heron

Sora

and this Sora were also very cooperative.

Orange-crowned Warbler

Yesterday I mentioned that I had seen an Orange-crowned Warbler.  I think this species is one of the more poorly named birds.  I’ve never seen one with an Orange Crown! 

Hope all is well in everyone’s little corner of the world.   Thank you for visiting … I’m going to get off #139 this weekend!!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good Photo Day

  1. Great photos buddy. You did have a good day out. Makes me want to take a trip down there. Well done. your time and effort does pay off.
    Gerry

  2. Theresa says:

    Lovely photographs! I love your sora, the background is perfect.

    I can’t wait to see #139!

Leave a Reply

