Loxahatchee

I spent 3 hours birding Loxahatchee NWR this morning.  I heard the King Rail again and once again he failed to show himself.  My good friend and the best birder I know, Carl Edwards has told me that in a month or two they will come right out due to mating urges.

I ran into a small feeding flock of Warblers that included a wonderful Orange-crowned Warbler.  Orange-crowned used to be a nemesis for me but I’ve started to know their call and that has made locating them much easier.  I managed 3 decent pictures but due to computer problems at home was unable to get them ready for the blog.

I’ll do another easy day tomorrow at Green Cay Wetlands.  I On Friday (my Saturday) I’m planning on going out to Lake Okeechobee and the surrounding areas. I’m sure to find something good, so stay tuned!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Loxahatchee

  1. Looking forward to seeing the orange-crowned warbler! And more! I love your blog and getting a glimpse of what you see in your part of the world!

Leave a Reply

