One Month Down

Sunrise Boynton Beach Inlet 1-31-2012

Today I only birded for a little while down at the Boynton Beach Inlet.  The winds were pretty strong out of the East and I was hoping for something new to show up.  I watched the sun come up and then scanned the waters.  There were a number of feeding schools of fish that went by from North to South and they had many Terns and Gulls with them.

Magnificent Frigatebird

One school of fish was a little larger and even included this Magnificent Frigatebird.  I’ve only seen these guys soaring and was thrilled to see this one feeding with the other birds.

I didn’t see any new birds today but did have an enjoyable couple hours in the fresh sea air!

Knight Anole

 

18 inches of Lizard

When I got home, my son Phillip told me to look out the front window.  We get many lizards in and around the house but this was the first Knight Anole I’ve encountered.  He was clinging to the window frame and didn’t shy away when I took these pictures.  The Knight Anole is another of the many exotic reptiles that have escaped or been sent free.  To find out more click here.

So the 1st of 12 months is done.  I managed to photograph 139 species and I heard 3 more (Great-horned and Barred Owls and King Rail) that I’m sure I’ll get sooner than later this year.  I still have some birds to chase this month including Nothern Shoveler, Solitary Sandpiper, Sandwhich Tern, Grasshopper Sparrow, Baltimore Oriole, Brown-headed Cowbird and more.  Spring migration is still a month or so away but with the weird winter were having many oddball birds are being seen, so we’ll see what I can get this month.

Thanks for looking and all the kind comments!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Month Down

  1. Theresa says:

    Holy crap! A foot and a half of anole! That’s a big lizard.

    I can’t wait to see what happens next. Our cardinals are starting to fight over territory and display for the ladies, so we may get an early spring. Or a blizzard. Either way, hopefully good birds for you! Love you lots!

Leave a Reply

