Excellent Day Out!

I’m beginning to find that one of the hardest parts of writing the blog is coming up with a title!  I did have an excellent day.  I spent the entire day with Terri and we shared many great birds including a year bird and I was blessed to come up with a couple decent shots to share.

Red-shouldered Hawk

We started the day early in Riverbend and walked 4-5 miles finding a decent amount of birds including this Red-shouldered Hawk.  I was lucky to see him get ready to launch from his perch and happened to catch one.

Red-headed Woodpecker ... Very young guy just getting his colors!

One of the best things about Riverbend is the Woodpeckers.  We had 6 species today … Northern Flicker, Red-shouldered, Pileated, Downy, Red-bellied and Red-headed!  Riverbend is one of the few places that you can find Red-headed Woodpecker in Palm Beach County and I was fortunate enough to improve on the poor ID shot I got a couple of weeks ago. I really have to thank Cheryl for finding these guys last year!

Limpkin ... Just chillin!!

To busy eating to worry about the Paparazzi!

We also saw this Limpkin (I liked the framing and how he was just totally ignoring us),  and a very cooperative Eastern Gray Squirrel.

This is all he was willing to show us but I thank him humbly!

We then had lunch and did a little shoe shopping.  I still didn’t have a new bird for the day so I thought we’d go look for the Burrowing Owl that I missed the other day.  I knew where to look but we didn’t see any Owls when we pulled up.  Imagine my surprise when the first burrow I snuck up on and this guy pops his head up to see Whooo was coming.  These guys have the most amazing, compelling eyes!  The Burrowing Owl was the 137th bird photographed this year in Palm Beach County Florida.

American Bittern ... The cap on a phenomenal day!

Terri and I decided to end our day at my home away from home … Green Cay Wetlands.  We had only turned the first corner when we saw this American Bittern … he was only the first of three we saw tonight.  We also had to nice Coopers Hawk and a number of Soras.

Being out in nature is fantastic … being out with the one you love and sharing all of Gods wonders is priceless!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Excellent Day Out!

  1. Excellent day out indeed! Awesome shots!

Leave a Reply

