The Harold A Campbell Public Use Area at Stormwater Treatment Area 3/4 (STA 3/4)

South Florida can really come up with some doozy names.  Most people just call it STA 3/4.  I spent about 3 hours biking around the levee system and saw 3 new year birds and took a couple of nice pictures.

The Public Use part of the above name means that our wonderful Florida Government allows hunting on all of our natural areas.  What this means is you can’t get within 1000 yds of 95% of the birds.  They have been shot at so many times that even as I approach slowly on my bike they flee to the other end of the impoundment.

Roseate Spoonbills

I was fortunate enough to sort of sneak up on these Spoonbills.

Long-billed Dowitchers

and these Long-billed Dowitchers.

Peregrine Falcon ... # 136

New birds for the day were this beautiful Peregrine Falcon and

Northern Pintail ... a mile away but # 134

this Female Northern Pintail.

The last species I photographed today was the Northern Bobwhite.  I flushed the same covy two or three times and while I got an IDable image of them it’s not good enough for even my blog standards!

I also photographed a Purple Swamphen this morning.  This is another of the species that is breeding in South Florida but is not yet countable.  So the 3 new birds puts my year total at 136 species photographed in Palm Beach County this year!  Thanks for dropping by!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Harold A Campbell Public Use Area at Stormwater Treatment Area 3/4 (STA 3/4)

  1. Great photos. I think the reflection that the water adds brings even better depth to your photos. Well done.
    Gerry

  2. Jim Miller says:

    Nice images and text. My state of Texas is no better with their State Natural Areas–they’ve been stocking trout in the bodies of water in one of the SNA’s near where I’m at which in turn has destroyed the dragonfly populations in that SNA which in turn has reduced some of the bird populations that used to eat the dragonflies. Pogo had it right–we’ve met the enemy & he is us.

Leave a Reply

