Skunked … finally!

I didn’t see a new bird for my Palm Beach County Photography Big Year today and I’m very thankful for that!  Say what?  Yes, I’m very thankful and I’ll explain why.

Painted Bunting ... taken 10-22-11 Green Cay Wetlands

I have birded every day this year.  I’ve birded 26 days in a row and found and photographed at least one new bird every day. I found and photographed 135 species of birds (133 ABA countable).  I am thrilled at my progress for the year and have great hopes for the rest of the year but …

Purple Galinule ... taken 3-17-10 at Green Cay Wetlands

Today I started at Loxahatchee NWR a little before dawn.  I went to an area near the boat dock where I had heard a King Rail last week.  I played the call and immediately a bird responded not 25 feet away across the canal.  What a fantastic experience … for the next 15 minutes he called and clucked … but never once showed his face.  A wonderful birding experience and I know/hope I’ll get his picture at a later date.

I looked around for an hour or so and saw many wonderful birds including a Red-shouldered Hawk fly down 10 feet from me and get a snake … way cool! 

Little Blue Heron ... taken 6-1-11 at Green Cay wetlands

I couldn’t find the feeding flock of Warblers anywhere so I decided to head to Green Cay Wetlands to see what was around there.

I didn’t find anything new there either but I did run into many of my birding friends that I haven’t seen much this month and that definitely makes up for not getting a new bird. 

Tri-color Heron ... taken 6-30-11 at Green Cay Wetlands

I enjoy the chase and excitement of finding something new … but I also love my friends and just casually watching nature take place around us. I also got to see my honey today and spend some wonderful time with her looking at the birds and the bees and the flowers and the trees!

White Ibis and Banded Water Snake ... taken 10-24-11 at Green Cay Wetlands

I still want to get another 4-5 birds before the end of the month and will be going to STA 3/4 tomorrow in search of Ducks.  There was a recent report on the TAS birdboard of Pintails and Shovelers.  Last year about this time I had a White-tailed Kite out there so wish me luck!

… So now that my streak has been broken, I’ll still be chasing but I’ll also be doing more casual birding and Gasp, might even take a day off!  Thanks so much for looking and your kind comments.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, General, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Skunked … finally!

  1. Theresa says:

    Skunked! Take a day off! I should say that at 120+ birds before the end of January, you are doing fan-tabulously!

    Focus on friends, family, loved ones, and taking great pictures! Always love to read.
    Love-Theresa

  2. Jim Miller says:

    Outstanding image of the Tri-color with the reflections in the water.

Leave a Reply

