Very Flawed Stratedgy = Two New Year Birds

My thought process this morning was to go find the Borrowing Owl and then go look for Common Myna.  I knew where to go but didn’t even think about it being a school day and there being sooooo much traffic that there was no way of seeing an Owl.  I then went to where there was supposed to be Mynas but only found about a thousand Starlings …pretty to look at but not a new bird.

I’ll have to revisit the school on a Saturday or Sunday but at least I know where they are.

It was 8:30 and I was now in a dilemma as to where to go. I had wasted the best birding hours and as I was standing in the parking lot I felt a pretty good breeze coming straight out of the East.  I was only a couple of miles from the beach, so I headed to Boynton Beach Inlet to see what might be around.

Northern Gannet ... # 132 for the year

One of the great thing about the beach is you’ll never know what might show up.  I went to the end of the pier and after about 15 minutes started seeing Northern Gannets flying South.  They were way, way out and flying very low so I was thrilled when these guys broke the horizon for an acceptable ID shot.

Magnificent Frigatebird ... # 133

My friend Cheryl had mentioned a couple of days back that she had seen a Magnificent Frigatebird at the Jupiter Inlet so I started focusing off the horizon and up higher.  I was fortunate enough to have this one fly by just close enough for this ID shot.  She (White throat) stayed right in the sun so this is what I got.

Black-hooded Parakeet ... unfortunately not countable, yet!

The coolest find of the morning was a large flock of Black-hooded Parakeets.  They were hanging out in the Sable Palms behind the picnic area on the West side of A1A.  CAUTION RANT COMING …..This is one of the species here in Florida that anyone who did even a modest amount of birding or even a little bit of research would positively KNOW is breeding and being extremely successful.  This year I’ve seen pictures of flocks of 300-400 from St. Petersburg and I see them at least 25% of the time I’m out.  They are common … say compared to the Red-whiskered Bulbul, that can only be seen in a couple of neighborhoods in Miami.  I can’t count it for my big year, just like I can’t count Egyptian Geese, another bird that is widely established and breeding everywhere.  I just wish the powers that be would ask birders what is out there that should be countable.  END RANT

My poor strategy turned out OK today, but if I want to find a new bird every day till the end of the month, I’ll have to choose my hours birding more wisely.

The two new birds brings my total to #133 for the month/year.  Pictures of all the species I’ve photographed this year can be viewed here.

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

