A Beautiful Bittern

I went to Green Cay Wetlands today in hopes of finding the Baltimore Orioles spotted there yesterday.  Leaving home I ran into a pretty good down-pour and the last couple of times the Virginia Rail has been seen the weather has been rainy.  I started out going clockwise from the building heading North.  I arrived at the Gazebo where I’ve seen the Rail before and was greeted by one of the biggest Common Galinule fights I’ve witness lately.  At least half a dozen Galinules were chasing and squawking loudly, so not much chance of the Rail popping out.

Linda called and I met her back where she saw the Orioles yesterday.  We worked the woods for an hour or so and she mentioned that yesterday Richard had seen a Least Bittern.  We took a break from the Orioles and went back to where they saw the Bittern.

A fantastic consolation prize!

I played the call of a female Bittern one time and this beautiful male Least Bittern came right out.

This guy was the 129th species I’ve photographed this year in Palm Beach County.  You can visit my Flickr site here to see all of their pictures.

One other note … I talked to Eva Mathews, the manager for Green Cay and she hooked me up with a couple of leads on a few more good birds.  It’s great friends and other supporters that will really push me to have a REALLY big year!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Beautiful Bittern

  1. First class photo. Well done. Thanks for posting. Gives me a warm feeling just looking at all the green plant life. Still very dead up here.
    Gerry

  2. dou dou says:

    Such a sleek bird, great shot 🙂

Leave a Reply

