Friends!

One of the best things about Bird Watching is the people you meet.  I have met and made many friends in the last 6 years.  It is rare to find someone in the outdoors who’s not friendly or not willing to help you find a bird you might be looking for.  Some of my friends are aware that I’m doing a Palm Beach County Big Year and are always on the lookout for a good bird for my list.

Male House Finch ... What an unexpected treasure! #126

Today my very good friend Cheryl invited me up to her house in Palm Beach Gardens.  She has had a pair of House Finches visiting her back yard feeders for a couple of weeks. I really hadn’t even considered this species as I’ve never seen it in Palm Beach County before.  It is a regular Winter visitor in North Florida so to get one this far South is a real treat and blessing!

The Finches had been showing up between 11:00AM and 1PM so prior to this Cheryl and I visited Juno Beach Pier, Carlin Park and the Jupiter Inlet and Juno Scrub Ridge.

Ruddy Turnstone

This Ruddy Turnstone was posing on the breakwater so I obliged him with a couple of shots!

Forster's Tern ... Year bird # 125

Another new bird for my year list was this cooperative Forster’s Tern.  There were 3 of these beautiful Terns feeding close to the jetty at Jupiter Inlet.  I saw the Tern before the Finch so he was County Year Bird # 125.

Marsh Wren # 127

This evening Terri, who’s my very, very best friend, and I did a quick loop around Green Cay Wetlands.  I really wasn’t expecting to see another new bird today but she spotted this Marsh Wren and I was fortunate enough to get an IDable shot of him.

What an incredible day.  I was hoping for 1 new bird today and manage 3 … awesome.  You can see pictures of all the birds I’ve photographed in Palm Beach County this year … right here.  Thank you all for visiting!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

