Another Perfect Weather Day

January and February are definitely my favorite weather months in Florida.  It was clear and cool when I arrived at Wakodahatchee Wetlands, with the sun just getting ready to break the horizon.

Perfect early morning light.

The number one reason to visit Wakodahatchee this time of the year is the breeding birds.  There are at least 7-8 Great Blue Herons nesting and dozens of Double-crested Cormorants just finishing up.  The Anhingas, Cattle Egret, Glossy Ibis and Great Egret will also begin nesting soon if they haven’t already.  

Enjoying the early morning quiet ... until the lawnmowers started up!

Black-crowned Night Herons are one of my favorite subjects to shoot.  They really hardly ever move and their beautiful red eye always stands out.  This juvenile was sitting right at the beginning of the boardwalk. 

Look at those eyes ...

My hoped for birds today were a reported Virginia Rail or  maybe a Marsh Wren.  They were both here last year but today I dipped on them both.  While looking I saw a beautiful Northern Harrier cruising the marsh and also a pair of very young Raccoons rooting around for something to eat. Hard to resist taking his picture!

Condo cleanup and repair!

Having been skunked on my two target species I resorted to getting a photograph of 1 of my 2 last gimme birds.  Monk (Quaker) Parakeets nest in front of the wetlands near the power station.  They have quite the condominium going on with multiple entrances.  This pair was doing a little repair work.

The Monk Parakeet was the 123rd species I’ve photographed in January.  You can see them all here on my Flickr site.

tomorrow I’ll be on my bicycle for most of the day due to service being performed on my car.  The dealer is close to the beach so hopefully I can pick up a new bird there and not have to rely on my last gimme (House Sparrow).  Thanks for the visit and kind comments!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

