Noise Pollution @&#$ !!!

Today I met Linda at Loxahatchee NWR to look for a couple of different birds.  We started back by the boat ramp listening for King Rail and all of a sudden a half dozen airboats revved their engines and there went our chance for hearing any Rails.

We then went and met up with the Wednesday bird walk group and after determining that birding with 30 or so people might not be productive, went towards the Cypress Boardwalk to look for Carolina Wren.

Carolina Wren ... Palm Beach County Big Year Bird #121

While we successfully found a couple of them singing the best I could do was this really bad ID shot.  It’s not a glamour shot for sure but it will have to do till I find one posing better for me!

We continued our walk hoping to find the Great Horned Owl or the Screech Owl when all of a sudden we hear a leaf blower.  Maintenance decided that the day they have bird walks would be a great day to blow the walkway … not!

We hoped to maybe find a Hummingbird near the back of the Nature Center but nope … there was someone with a power-washer scrubbing the deck!!!

Magnolia Warbler ...A little better shot of this beauty!

We finally found a little quiet near the bus parking lot and ran into a nice feeding flock of Gnatcatchers, Warblers and Vireos.

Blue Gray Gnatcatcher ... He wondered what all the pishing was about! I guess he didn't like all the noise either!

I liked the look on this Gnatcatchers face.  Guess he thought I was making too much noise!

Ring-necked Ducks # 122 ... Should have been named Ring-billed instead!

I only stay at Loxahatchee till 9:30 or so and decided to get my Ring-necked Duck for the year.  Every year there is a very large flock (over 50) that calls the lake on the corner of Atlantic Ave and the Turnpike in Delray their home.  It is sometimes difficult to get a close image of this Duck because they are very skittish.  These two posed fairly close and you can even faintly see the Brown ring around their necks.

Even though it wasn’t the quiet peaceful morning I hoped for, did I mention the helicopter that buzzed us, I was successful in adding 2 new species to my Palm Beach County year list. 

Thanks for visiting and I hope you have a quiet and peaceful Thursday!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Noise Pollution @&#$ !!!

  1. Wow, some real good birds there and I loe the Magnolia Warbler. I am dead keen on my bird sounds and bird sound recording and the point you make about noise pollution is bang on the nail. Mind you, birds are resilient creatures and tend to never give up on getting on with life, whatever it throws at them.

    Kind Regards

    Tony Powell

  2. Terri says:

    Noise pollution can ruin everything. The person who invented leaf blowers should be tortured!!!! Sounds like between the airboats, leaf blowers, power washer and helicopter – you hung in there a lot longer than I would have!!!!

  3. Laura says:

    Even though the carolina wren shot wasn’t the best ID photo- the shot has serious mood: murky ambiance and a bird that seems to have a sultry look going. Very nice shots- the blue gray gnatcatcher and magnolia warbler came out great.

Leave a Reply

