Couldn’t find a single new bird today!

My only target for the day! #116

I actually found 5!!!  I started my morning at Green Cay Wetlands with the only real target bird being European Starling.  I had intended to just enjoy a quiet day not chasing and when I met up with Linda I had already photographed the Starlings.

Purple Martin # 117

We hadn’t walked 20 feet and I noticed a Purple Martin flying overhead.  Green Cay has 4 Martin houses and this is pretty much the time of the year they come back.  There were a couple of males and at least one female already going into the boxes.

So now I’m thinking … great, I’ve got twice what I was expecting today.  Little did I know I’d get 2 more really good species and also a lone flyover Fish Crow.

Sharp-shinned Hawk # 118

Linda and I had made our way into the Chickhee Hut woods and while looking for Warblers and such I spied a Raptor perched way in the back of the canopee.  We discussed the possible candidates for a little bit and fortunately this guy perched for plenty of shots.  Our consensus was that this is a Sharp-shinned Hawk due to the skinny legs, notched tail (visible in other shots) and the fact that the color on his head continues all the way down his neck.  A Coopers Hawk shows a capped look and is a little bigger with a rounded tail.  We watched him fly off and his flight pattern nailed the identity it for me. 

We saw the Fish Crow next which was year bird # 119 and continued walking with a flyby Harrier and Black-crown Night Heron being nice sightings.

Broad-winged Hawk # 120 for the year!!!

We had just exited the Cypress Woods when I noticed a Raptor soaring quite a distance away.  I knew at first sight that it was not our normal Red-shouldered or Coopers.  I yelled out Broad-winged and the Swainsons.  It’s not a great picture but shows the diagnostic White stripe in the tail and the dark edgings to the wings.  I had hope to see one of these during Fall migration and feel so blessed to see one now!

I can’t believe how fortunate I was today and it made it even better that I got to share it with Linda.  Linda has a list for Green Cay that is pushing 160 or so and the Broad-winged may have been a new one for GC.

You can view pictures of all the birds I’ve photographed this year so far here.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

