A Beach Day

When I woke up this morning the weatherman said it was blowing pretty good out of the Northeast.  This is usually the time to find some goodies at the beach so I loaded up and headed to the Boynton Beach Inlet.

The now "Famous" Brown Pelican

One of the almost constants of the beach are the Brown Pelicans.  I usually don’t take a lot of pictures of them but this guy landed right in front of me and demanded that I make him famous.  Now he’s immortalized on the internet!!

Common Loon

The Common Loon I saw back on January 1st is still hanging around on the West side of the Inlet.  I thought this was an interesting pose of this beautiful bird. I was starting to get nervous with these guys staring at me!

Bonaparte's Gull #115 for the year!

Now that I’ve kept everyone in suspense … I did get a new species for my list.  There was an extremely cooperative Bonaparte’s Gull that I ended up having to walk away from.  I’d seen one back in December and had held out hope that it might still be around.

Bonaparte's Gull

It can be quite interesting to watch one of these small Gulls feed.  They will “dance” on the water.  They look like they are walking on hot coals and they pick small bits off the surface.  I tried to capture this guy dancing but none of my shots came out clear … gives me a reason to go back! LOL

The Bonaparte’s Gull was species #115 for the year.  I’m hoping to get into the 120’s by the end of the month and  I still have some very common birds like House Sparrow and Starling, so with a little luck I’ll reach that goal.   Thank you so much for looking and your kind comments. 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

