Robins, Robins and more Robins!

Yesterday I was blessed to share the Louisiana Waterthrush with a great group of friends.  When everyone departed Cheryl headed North and stopped at Grassy Waters Preserve in Palm Beach Gardens.  She took this incredible picture of a Cedar Waxwing so I decided since they are fairly hard to find in South Florida that I would head that way this morning.

I’ve been to Grassy Waters Preserve quite a few times and while it is one of the prettier places to walk around, it usually doesn’t have loads of birds.  The park consists of two sides.  One side opens at 8am, the other at 7.  I was up there early enough to bike one of the trails and I had only seen a dozen species of birds by the time I finished the 5 miles or so.

Unbelievable ... Two of these wonderful birds in two days!

Just as I was about to return to the car I ran across a nice feeding flock of Warblers.  There were Pine, Prairie, Yellow-rumps and Palms.  I was searching through this group when I heard a “chink” call that sounded like a Waterthrush.  I was thinking cool, I’ll get the Northern Waterthrush today and have them both knocked out early in the year.  I couldn’t believe it when I saw it was another Louisiana.  When I did my Ebird list last night the Louisiana doesn’t even come up.  You have to hit the rare bird button and then confirm your sighting.  How can you be disappointed in such a great bird as this? LOL

One of literally thousands!

I guess I should explain the title.  I’ve been in Florida for nearly 20 years and can not remember ever seeing so many Robins at one time.  There were waves and waves of them seemingly falling from the sky.  They were feasting on the berries from the Dahoon Holly quite oblivious to me snapping away. I don’t know what the significance of this is and can only guess/hope that they are running from some really cold air that’s headed South.

I did get my Cedar Waxwing today (Palm Beach County Big Year Bird # 113).  There were a couple of big flocks of these guys, but probably only 50-100 total.  They were also feeding on the Holly but were a little more skittish than the Robins.

Eastern Fox Squirrel

I met a new friend today.  This little Eastern Fox Squirrel didn’t mind me at all.  I talked to him for a while as he ate acorns and whatever else he could find. Growing up in Ohio we had tons of Squirrels in our neighborhood.  We had a Buckeye Tree in the front yard and in the Fall the Eastern Gray and Black Squirrels would make it rain shell casings as they filled up for the Winter.  Such a cute litle guy!

For a gloomy gray day it turned out all right.  A new bird for the count and a new friend!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Robins, Robins and more Robins!

  1. Lisa says:

    GORGEOUS photos!

  2. Theresa says:

    You ought to be getting more birds from up here soon! We are having a big cold spell and BAM! all the robins, geese, mourning doves, etc disappeared. Our fat fluffy squirrels, too.

    Great pictures, as always!

  3. Laura says:

    Great pictures. I’m impressed with your squirrel, quite cute. I was going to mention how fat and fluffy the squirrels are up here, but Theresa beat me to the punch!

Leave a Reply

