The Juggling Act

Now that I’m back to work I’ll have to juggle birding with all the normal stuff like family, laundry and shopping etc… Today I manged to go to Boynton Beach Inlet and also to a little natural area that is smack dab in the middle of an industrial complex.

The Beach had 5 species of Gull including half a dozen Greater Black-backed Gulls.  Sanderlings and Ruddy Turnstones were the only shorebirds so I didn’t stay long. 

I decided to head North towards Lake Worth along A1A and saw a small sandbar in the intercostal.  I jumped out and snapped a series of the entire sandbar to look at when I got home.  There were Black-bellied Plovers, Dowitchers and a lone Dunlin (year bird #108).

I did some shopping and then stopped to bird a little more.  I found this little spot 3 years ago.  It is the back-end of a Condo Complex and butts up to an Industrial Complex.  There are a couple of lakes and the trees surrounding them have always held good birds.

Today I had a good number of Palm Warblers including a stunning, brightly colored Eastern Palm (missed the picture) and this singing Yellow-throated Warbler. (#109).

Two new year birds in an hour or so of looking … sweet! You can see pictures of all 109 birds I’ve photographed this year in Palm Beach County here.  As always thank you for the visit!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, General, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Juggling Act

  1. wartica says:

    Those are some great shots; it’s amazing what you can find out there in the world around us. There are so many amazing things , on this planet, we just have to open up to it.Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

Leave a Reply

