Almost Skunked!

Today I walked around Green Cay Wetlands with 2 of my favorite birding friends.  Linda, Brian and I saw a total of 53 species, with a flyover Royal Tern and Lesser Yellowlegs being the most uncommon birds.  My intention had been to photograph a European Starling so I’d have at least one new bird for my year list, but as amazing as it sounds nary a one could be found.

I held out some hope for maybe a Least Bittern or possibly  a Marsh Wren.  On the far North side we did get many brief looks at a Marsh Wren but I just couldn’t capture an image so that one will have to wait till another day.

This Ovenbird saved the day! #107 for the year

As we headed up the final ramp towards the visitor center I mentioned that I hadn’t seen a Painted Bunting when I first came in.  I saw something underneath the feeder that I thought was a female but couldn’t ID it for sure.  I off handedly remark it could have been an Ovenbird and low and behold what was underneath the feeder a year bird! This guy was #107 for the year.

I know eventually I’ll hit a day without a new bird but I’m going to fight tooth and nail to not let it be tomorrow!!  Thanks for visiting.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

