Fabulous Last Day of Vacation

I think the Woodstork was giving thanks for such a glorious day!

Todays post starts with a picture from last night the 9th.  I posted early yesterday afternoon and then was lucky enough to share the sunset with Terri at Green Cay.

This was a first for me at Loxahatchee.

Today I biked 22 miles out at Loxahatchee NWR.  I rode the entire dike down to where they are doing construction.  I saw an incredible array of birds today and some other really cool wildlife.  This pair of White tails were grazing and politely stood still for a couple of faraway shots!

I did pick up year bird 106 today in this White-eyed Vireo.  Yesterday I struggled to find a Sparrow and today I must have seen a dozen Swamp and a couple dozen Savannahs.  The birds I’ve photographed this year can be seen here.

Many people don’t think much of our Turkey Vultures but I think we should be very thankful for the cleanup they do.  Unfortunately roadkill is part of todays society and these opportunistic feeders do a wonderful job of keeping the roads clean.  I thought this guy looked kind of majestic sunning himself!

Zebra Longwing ... the State butterfly!

Julia

By the time I had made it to the construction site the birds had all but disappeared.  I made a number of stops on the way back trying to pish up anything but only managed a couple of these winged beauties.  Hey, I know they’re not birds but they do have wings!!

So my vacation is over tomorrow.  I still will get to bird most mornings and will continue to work on my list as feverishly as possible.  I’m very pleased with what I’ve seen so far and look forward to the next 70-80!  Thanks for stopping by!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Insects, Mammals, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fabulous Last Day of Vacation

  1. Terri says:

    So glad I was able to share the beauty of the outdoors during your vacation days – and now on to the BIG adventure of the seas March 4th!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

