Horned Grebe!!

I'm so happy he came back!

This morning I visited Wellington environmental Preserve again.  Yesterday I read on the TAS Birdboard that the Horned Grebe had returned.  The last time it was seen was on the 27th or 28th of December and I thought my chances of adding it to my year list were gone with all this warm weather.  Thanks to Smith (Cajunspice) and Patrick for relocating him today.

Eastern Towhee is also another bird that is difficult to find in Palm Beach County but there seems to be a small number of them in between the two parking lots.  I often hear them calling but to see them is a different thing.  Today I was pishing and this guy ended up literally at my feet.

I also found this Eastern Meadowlark along the Southern edge of the property.  Unfortunately he was almost directly into the sun resulting in this high key shot.

I think I’ve said this before but I really have come to the conclusion that the preserve is definitely the easiest place in Palm Beach County to see Snail Kite.  I routinely see 3-4 of them every trip out.  This one posed very nicely for me.

Three really good birds for the year list (you can see them here).  I still have a number of common species like Fish Crow and Starling left to photograph and then I have to really start working at adding new species.  I think I’ve got a good start to the year and just hope for some weather fronts to come through.  Some of our Winter birds like American Robin and Cedar Waxwing aren’t being reported anywhere around.  Many of our Ducks haven’t made it this far South … come on weather!!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, General, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Horned Grebe!!

  1. Terri says:

    I especially love the otter and the gorgeous snail kite!!! The fires burning was a very cool shot too!

  2. doudou says:

    Reblogged this on dou dou birds and commented:
    What a cutie!

  3. Laura says:

    Those are some mighty fine shots. I particularly like the Snail Kite.

Leave a Reply

