Naturally nice day!

Loxahatchee NWR 1-7-2012

I started the day at Loxahatchee NWR and ended it at Green Cay Wetlands.  While I did see a lot of birds today I only added 2 for the year list … which brings me up to an even 100 for the first week of the year.

I had a day filled with friends.  I met and walked around with Carl Edwards for a couple of hours.  I saw Tom Mitchell and Alan (from Flickr) near the parking lot and as I rode my bike back to my car I saw and talk to Don Mackrell.  Lots of nice conversations all the way around!

While walking along the dike with Carl we saw this River otter from a couple of hundred yards behind us.  He was coming towards us, so we stepped down off the dike and he ended up coming all the way to us, within 5 feet, looked at us and then just lazily went into the canal!  Way cool!

While at Green Cay with Terri we ran in to Mauricio and Lillian and then Jerry.  Lots more good conversation.  We saw this obviously colorblind pair of Rock Doves holding wings!

Terri also spotted this nice Florida Banded Water Snake.  We waited patiently for the Bobcats to show up tonight but they were a no-show.  One benefit of waiting was that the moon was up so I’ll leave you tonight with its image.  Thanks for the looks!

1-7-2012 Green Cay Wetlands ... Canon 50D with 100-400 mm lens handheld!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, General, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

