Fog and Smoke

Today I visited Station 1 West and the Browns Farm Road area.  I was hoping to find some new Ducks for the year but wound up in an extensive fog bank that didn’t lift until nearly 8 o’clock.  The Ducks were a no-show.  There were 1,000’s of American Coots a few Blue-winged Teal and one lone group of Lesser Scaup. I had a very pleasant 7 mile bike ride and the scenery is fabulous.  One thing negative about the Stations, at least 1 West and station 3 and 4 off of US 27,  is that they allow hunting and every single bird in the place would totally bug out as I approached.

I left there and headed a little further West to Browns Farm road.  This area is famous for its Shorebirding in the Fall.  I was looking for the Barn Owls that sometimes roost there but didn’t see any today.  It was kind of smokey and I only stayed long enough to pick up Common Ground Dove and Yellow-crowned Night Heron for my year list.

Grumpy looking Yellow-crowned Night Heron!

Common Ground Dove

I picked up the above two species and Short-billed Dowitcher today.  I also had taken a picture of Gray Catbird a couple of days ago … so my year list is at 98.  Thanks for looking!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

