Casual Birding Day

In the last 3-4 years I have probably spent over 75% of my time in the field at Green Cay Wetlands.  I love this place and many of my birding/photography friends are often there.  It’s nice to bird with others sometimes and today was one of those days.  No serious chasing, just enjoying the company of friends on a beautiful South Florida day.

This morning I spent 3 hours going around with Linda F, Bill K, Koose and  Dr. Alan.  We saw 40 something birds and with the incredible blue sky and lack of humidity I was able to capture some nice shots including this Glossy Ibis.

Palm Warbler fanning his tail!

Female Black and White Warbler

Young Male Common Yellowthroat ... notice his mask hasn't grown in yet!

I told my group I was looking for some Warblers for my list today and we came up with a Palm Warbler a Black and White and a nice young male Common Yellowthroat.  I needed all three for my big year and was happy to have a some cooperative subjects!

Hooded Merganser in the fading night sky!

This evening Terri and I went back with 2 goals.  Photograph a group of Ducks that I’ve noticed flying East every night and seeing the Bobcats.  The Ducks turned out not to be  what I suspected.  They were tiny things with incredibly fast stiff wing beats and I was pretty sure my ID is correct.  The white patch on the cheek is pretty diagnostic for Bufflehead but they turned out to be Hooded Merganser!  Oh yeah … we did see a Bobcat near the front entrance.  It looked very big so we think it was a male and not the momma with her cubs.

It was a really nice day and I did add 3 new birds to the year list bringing it up to 93.  You can see them all here (probably tomorrow) !!! Thanks for the looks!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, General and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

