Sunny, sunny, sunny … a perfect day!

I started out early this morning traveling up to Riverbend Park in Jupiter. It was a very chilly 38 degrees when I started (at least chilly by Floridians standards).  Thankfully there was little wind today making for excellent birding.  Riverbend is a huge place … 680 acres.  I took my bike and covered over 11 miles and didn’t go on the same path twice!

I like to visit Riverbend for a couple of reasons.  It is almost a sure thing for Wild Turkey and one of the lakes generally has Wood Ducks in it.  I saw a total of 44 species in the 5 hours of riding around the place and while the number doesn’t seem that big, a good portion of the park is woods and I missed many of the common wetland birds.

One big surprise was a couple of female Hooded Merganser in one of the little creeks.  I was looking at a juvenile Red-headed Woodpecker and almost stepped on them.  I know the male is the showy one but I think she’s awful beautiful in her own right!

One of Riverbends other good features are the Woodpeckers.  I saw 5 species including this Pileated Woodpecker doing something I’ve never seen this species do. This guy was landing on these vines and picking the seeds off.  He did this on two different trees so he knew what he was doing.  That’s what so wonderful about being out so much … I’m learning new stuff all the time.

One more good bird from Riverbend was this Red-tailed Hawk.  I’m pretty sure this is an adult Light-morph Harlan’s, one of the better sub-species.

Since it was soooooooo nice out I decide top go to Green Cay Wetlands in the afternoon.  I saw 44 species there of which 22 were different from this morning.  This gave me a total of 68 different for the day.  This Coopers Hawk was a new year bird and quite a stunning fellow.

The last shot of the day, as the sun was setting, was this American Wigeon.  I loved the way the reeds were reflecting in the water and how there color compliments hers so well.

I added 14 new species today and they can be seen here, you should be able to see them all now.  I had a setting on Flickr wrong but should have the problem fixed.

As always thanks for the look!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunny, sunny, sunny … a perfect day!

  1. Laura says:

    That’s a pretty impressive day! I’m also really impressed you’re already in the nineties for the year.

Leave a Reply

