A very blustery day!

The cold front came through last night and brought with it very strong winds.  I visited Wellington Wetlands today and there were literally whitecaps on the water.  I like to ride my bike here due to the size of the place.  It was so windy I couldn’t use my kickstand … the bike kept falling down.  It was so windy the Turtles were body surfing the waves … OK, you get it, it was windy!

Staying out of the wind!

Windy conditions make for difficult birding.  Most of the birds were hunkered down and even though I saw 41 species I worked hard to find them.

The wind did help me with this Kestrel.  He allowed a much closer approach than normal because he really didn’t want to fly and find a new perch.

There were 100’s of Vultures up and soaring and I spotted this young Bald Eagle with them.  This guy is between 3  and 4 years old and will probably get his adult plumage after his next molt.  His head is already getting close to adult feathering.

For anyone who keeps a county list of birds I’ve found that this is the easiest spot to get Caspian Tern.  They roost most days right behind the tower and are very tolerant of people.  They also usually have a few buddies with them.  Today there were Greater and Lesser Yellowlegs, Killdeer and a Snowy Egret resting with them.

I added 11 more pictures of species today bringing my total to 76 for the first 3 days of the year.  You can see all of them here.  Thanks for looking and any encouraging comments would be greatly appreciated!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

