Arthur R. Marshall Loxahatchee National Wildlife Refuge … Day 2

One of favorite spectacles is the “flyout” at Loxahatchee.  If you haven’t witnessed 1000’s of Ibis, Egrets and Herons all leaving the roost nearly simultaneously, Loxahatchee is the place to go.  Just pick any clear morning and be at the tower in the far back by the fishing pier.  The birds sometimes fly so close you can hear the wing beats.  Really worth getting up for at least once!

Today was another really good day of birding.  I counted 52 species of birds at the refuge today and was only there for about 4 hours.  I didn’t expect to see anyone this morning but was very pleased to find to good birding buddies near the Nature Center.  Linda and Ruth and I walked the Cypress boardwalk and saw a couple of birds and heard tons.

Black-throated Green and Magnolia Warblers

When we had finished the boardwalk  and were headed back  to the parking lot we noticed a small feeding flock of Warblers in a tree above the bathrooms.  To our surprise the flock contained the two beauties above along with a Praire and Pine Warbler.  I thought I would have had to wait for migration to see any of the better Warblers!

Yesterday one of my surprise misses was Red-shouldered Hawk.  This Raptor is almost a given anytime you go to Green Cay Wetlands but I never did get a picture.  Today these two decided to make up for it.  They flew in mated and then he (the back one) looked at her expectantly and all she did was look away!!

Yesterday I took pictures of 54 species of birds. Today I added 11 more species you can see them here. I am hoping the cold front will bring in some new birds tomorrow!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

