What’s in store for 2012

I have a few thoughts on what I want to accomplish both personally and here on the blog in 2012. I hope that by putting them down and out there for all to see I’ll be motivated to actually complete them. 

On the blog level I would like to post about all the new places I’ll visit in Palm Beach County this year.  This shouldn’t be to hard if I stick to the plan I have for birding next year.

On a personal level I would like to photographically document as many species of living things as I possibly can in one year throughout the county.  While I am primarily a birder, I never pass up the chance to photograph any of natures wonders.  I suspect that by going to a lot of new places I will greatly increase the bugs, mammals and reptiles I will see.

There are a couple of reasons I want to be more “active” this year and while the number of days in the field probably won’t be that much greater than this year I just plan on seeing way more of the county. 

I was a little dismayed last June when Palm Beach County was kind of “put out there” on the TAS Birdboard about the June Challenge.  I have to agree with David Simpson that no one had mentioned anything (at least that I had read) about getting a team together or of doing an individual count.  Brian Hope did finally, at the end, say that he and a couple of others had been doing the challenge but like I said they never let anyone else in on their secret. 

Our counties birders just don’t seem to be organized or friendly or something … I don’t know what it is.  We only have a couple of people who occasionally post sightings and I know we have just as much to offer as any other county.

So this year I vow to change this image.  I plan on posting all good sightings to TAS and improving the reputation of our county 1 bird at a time.

I am very fortunate to work the 2nd shift and get to be outside most mornings and while Palm Beach County is so large that  it’s not always practical to drive to the Northern portions of the county on work days,  I plan on spending my weekends away from my normal haunts.

We have a fantastic County and some great birders and I want the rest of Florida to know it.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

