Kites … Swallowtail Kite That Is

Today I met one of my longtime birding friends Cheryl at Riverbend Park which is just outside of Jupiter Florida.  This is probably one of the most under birded parks in Palm Beach County.  Cheryl lives in the Northern part of the county and probably considers this her home patch like I claim Green Cay as mine.

Swallowtail Kite .. the #163rd species photographed for the year

Last week she had 3 different birds that I haven’t photographed for my big year.  One of the species being the Swallowtail Kite.  For the past 2 years a pair has nested in the park but it appears this year they are nesting directly across the road.  I took this shot into the sun so there is not much detail but at least you can see where he gets his name from.

Migration has definitely NOT started here in South Florida.  We saw/heard a couple of Northern Parulas a Common Yellowthroat… and that’s it … and they are both species that Winter in the park.

Cedar Waxwings

We did have some nice sightings. This flock of Cedar Waxwings was one of many groups we saw.  I know I’ve posted a couple of pictures of these guys but they are just so darn pretty/unique.

Black-bellied Whistling Duck

There was a group of Black-bellied Whistling Ducks sitting in the trees where the Wood Ducks sometimes sit!  This was also shot into the sun … which as all good photographers will tell you is a no-no … but I’m a birder who just happens to carry a camera!

Wood Ducks

Not too much further on we saw this nice pair of Wood Ducks.  This is the species I expected in the trees not the BBWD … I learned something new today and I love when that happens.

I had a very enjoyable day and was blessed with adding a new species to my Big Year.  All the species I’ve taken pictures of this year in Palm Beach County Florida can be seen here.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kites … Swallowtail Kite That Is

  1. Again just awesome shots Tom, you do have a wonderful area to birdwatch. And now congrats on #163!

  2. kasmango says:

    Great shots! I really like the photo of the cedar waxwings, they are definitely different and so bright. They light up that tree!

  3. So you got our Waxwings, send them back. By the time they get here the ice should be off.
    Gerry

Leave a comment